Tennessee School for the Deaf - Knoxville
Language Arts at TSD
Measures of Academic Progress (MAP)
All students participate in MAP testing multiple times throughout the school year. MAP is a test which measures growth and predicts proficiency over time.
Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP)
Students in grades 3 through 8 take the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) achievement test each spring. The achievement test is a timed, multiple-choice assessment that measures students' progress in reading, language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. Student results are reported to parents, teachers and administrators. The below links are connected to practice tests on the state website.
Tennessee State End of Course (EOC) or Gateway Test
The State Board of Education designated ten high school courses as the basis for End-of-Course examinations. High School End of Course examinations are given in English I, English II, English III, Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, U.S. History, Biology I, Chemistry and Physics. The results of these examinations will be factored into the student's grade at a percentage determined by the State Board of Education in accordance with T.C.A.49-1-302 (2).
The Woodcock Johnson III (WCJ III)
The Woodcock Johnson III is designed to measure intellectual abilities and academic performance. The Woodcock-Johnson III consists of two instruments: Tests of Cognitive Abilities and Tests of Achievement.
Writing Assessment (TCAP)
Students in fifth, eighth and eleventh grades take the TCAP Writing Assessment, which determines students' overall ability to communicate in writing. Emphasis is also placed on the ability of the student to communicate in a particular mode of writing.


||   Top   ||

©2013 Tennessee School for the Deaf